the-shy-connector-090818212320-phpapp01

I came across a marvellous presentation on Angela Maiers’ terrific blog (don’t seem to be able to embed it. I’ll try later, but follow the link if you’re interested) and it spoke very strongly to my condition. Like Sacha, I enjoy speaking to groups of people, but find social situations and contributing to discussions challenging, despite appearances.

I actually don’t agree with Sacha Chua that either of us is shy. I think it is more about diffidence. John Connell’s elegant definition describes diffident people thus:

 They tend to be fairly private individuals who will usually be motivated by internal forces rather more than they will be reactive to external influences.

I shall stop beating myself up because I’m not the life and soul.

I also really like Sacha’s low key presentation. Something I will try to emulate.

