I find myself with 15 minutes to spare.

Why? Because when I turned up at a school to continue a phonological awareness programme focusing on syllabification (I call it Spelling Without Letters), the child was engrossed in creating an animation. This was a one-off event.

I decided – with the agreement of the child and his teacher – that he would benefit more from working in collaboration with his peers to design and create a film about the local environment than working in isolation with me. I strive to make the work I do with pupils relevant and enjoyable. But I cannot compete with the charms of film directing. Nor would I want to.

This particular child is extremely intellectually able and has significant reading, spelling and coordination difficulties. 

What would you have done?

