This is a link I picked up from the latest futurelab publication:

The winter is the time for spooky tales and now there is a site Transmissions From Beyond with which to indulge the mood as well as provide reluctant readers with some compelling content. The site is a recent arrival and the cache of stories being read by their authors is a relatively choice one at present, but it is set to grow and the feedback opportunities are a good vehicle for honing students’ critical skills.

‘Relatively choice’ is an interesting turn of phrase. Although I place ‘His Dark Materials‘ in my top 10 of favourite books, I rarely venture into science fiction and fantasy. My instinct when looking at the offerings here is to move rapidly on. However, I know enough about what engages young people to think that this might be a valuable resources for turning some less fluent readers on to story.

