Another news snippet before I shut up shop. Interesting how this journalist manages to twist information to sensationalise complex changes in curricular policy. Why am I surprised?

Colette Douglas-Home is ‘appalled to read that teachers in England and Wales are being told by the government to stop teaching the rule, “I before E except after C…’ (I don’t believe that for a minute).
She writes, ‘If England continues down the route of government spelling edicts, Scotland could, ironically become the standard-bearer of the language as we know it. …There is an emphasis on literacy and numeracy within the Curriculum for Excellence. Spelling is now the responsibility of every teacher, not just those in the English department….’

I hope every teacher realises that the CfE outcomes and experiences cover a great deal more than spelling! Still, it’s good to read some positive comments about CfE.

