A Little Fable, Kafka

‘Alas’, said the mouse, ‘the world is growing smaller everyday. At the beginning it was so big that I was afraid. I kept running and running and I was glad when at last I saw walls far away to he right and left but these long walls have narrowed so quickly that I am in the last chamber already and there in the corner stands the trap that I must run into’.
‘You only need to change your direction’ said the cat. And ate the mouse up.

And here it is in graphic form.

I found this gem in David Foster Wallace’s book: Consider the Lobster.

Wallace maintains that a central theme of Kafka’s work is that the ‘horrific struggle to establish a human self results in a self whose humanity is inseparable from that horrific struggle. Our endless and impossible journey towards home is in fact our home’.

My brain is still somewhat addled from too much chocolate and indolence to make sensible comments. Suffice it to say that his wee fable reminded me of the children who are involved in struggles to cope with school. For many, there seems to be no way out.

A cheerful thought for the new year I am sorry to say.

But at least I’ve opened the blog and have started again.

Best wishes to all for a peaceful 2010.


