Here is my contribution to the celebration of Scottish Education as suggested by Don Ledingham. (I have uploaded it to Youtube but don’t think I’ve tagged it very well. First attempt!)

The script for my video is, more or less, the winning entry in a competition run by iansyst and dyslexia.com. They have not yet posted the news there but here is the email I received a couple of weeks ago:

Congratulations!

I am delighted to inform you that you have submitted the winning entry into our Dyslexia Friendly Best Practice Award, and that you are the lucky winner of the Dell Laptop along with ClaroRead, Mind Genius, Nessy and Audio Notetaker software.

The competition drew a lot of interest, but we felt that the commitment demonstrated in promoting dyslexia strengths via the use of technology was exemplar. The methods utilised in encouraging pupils independence, not only showed imagination, but a high level of understanding of the difficulties faced by dyslexic students.

It is vital that children with dyslexia have their challenges addressed at a young age, without being isolated from other pupils. The methods suggested within your submission show an insightful means of tackling these challenges, whilst maintaining an open learning environment for all pupils – Congratulations.

I am expecting the laptop to be delivered this week.

