Sometimes I take it for granted that class and head teachers know as much about resources that are suitable for learners with dyslexia as we with support roles do. And then I am taken by surprise that when I make what seem to me to be obvious suggestions, I am greeted with cries of joy.

So I thought I would flag up the new  newsletter from the publisher, Barrington Stoke.

Here is the blurb from the website:

Barrington Stoke believes in stories. When a reader is hooked on a story, his reading ability improves. He reads more fluently, because he wants to read! Struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers don’t need boring books in childish language – they need the best stories they can get. And that’s why award-winning publisher Barrington Stoke publish stories by some of the best children’s authors in the world. Comedy, ghost stories, real-life drama, fascinating facts or thrilling adventure: there’s a Barrington Stoke book that will keep your child turning the pages.

There is no doubt that these books fill a much needed gap in the market. They are well written ‘chapter books’ (how important it is for reluctant readers to appear to be reading books like their peers’) by established authors printed on buff paper. I like the by-line:

We have a lot of ways to make it easier for your child to read but it all starts with a good story.

How true that is.

And I have a vague feeling that they are Scottish. Any one know for sure?

