The wonderful Michael Rosen speaks here about the books that made him. MIchael Rosen

This reminds me of another fascinating book about reading by Francis Spufford, The Child that Books Built.I learnt about his book when I heard Spufford speak at the Edinburgh Book Festival some years ago – quite the most fabulous place to be in August. (Carol Ann Duffy agrees with me!)

Another book related to voyages around bookshelves is Susan Hll’s Howard’s End is on the Landing. It’s winging it’s way to my door as we speak.Howard's End is on the Landing by Susan Hill

I’m at present packing to move house and my labours are constantly interrupted by books – familiar and possessed but not yet read – demanding to be perused. I’d simply prefer to be reading, thinking about reading or listening to readers. Hey ho.

